It’s time to look in the mirror…

When I look back on my life, I see pain, mistakes and heartache. When I look in the mirror, I see strength, learned lessons and pride in myself.

 It took me a long time to appreciate quotes like this. I guess that’s mainly because I was only looking backwards. I stayed so focused on what has happened, what has gone wrong, etc. I’ve never taken the time to actually look in the mirror.

I am sure that there are a lot of you that have struggled in much the same way. It’s ok, we are only human. But I am here to tell you, there is another way to live your life! Fighting a lifelong battle with depression and anxiety, I just never knew how to truly handle life. It weighed me down so heavy until one day it finally broke me. I prayed to God, that I would find my purpose in this world, and that I would find a way past all the negative. Now, I still have bad days…that will probably always stay with me. But, thanks to several things, including a new attitude…I simply step back for a moment, take a deep breath until the bad moves on, and get up the next day and tackle everything head first again.

Let me say, prayers really do get answered. The key to that is, you have to believe! Believe that there is a better way to live life. Believe that you are strong enough to handle anything that comes your way. Then one day, it all became so clear to me. It can be that way for you too.

It takes courage to let go of the negative, toxic things…whether that is situations, people, etc. Once you do that, you will begin to see the difference. It will be the encouragement you need to do more positive things in your life. You will be looking for what else you can do that will help. You have to take a look in that mirror and find the real you. Not the version that the world wants to see. That can be 2 totally different things. Be true to yourself.

Leave a Reply

