Reversing The Roles…

We were heading down a road I have journeyed a million times today, but for some reason – with the windows down and my eyes closed, my mind took me back about 35 years. The smell of riding in my grandpa’s truck, the wind whipping through the window onto my face. It was such a bittersweet moment when we reached our destination and I opened my eyes to reality.
Walking into my parents house, which used to be my grandparent’s house, and several generations before them… I stepped into the role of being the adult child there to look after my aging parents.

Have you ever stopped and thought about what it would be like to wake up one morning and realize that you don’t really remember what you’ve done just the day before? Or to see someone walk in your home that you know you should know….but you just can’t think WHY you should know them? That would have to be the most unsettling feeling, I would imagine.

At almost 81, my mom is in the advanced stage of Alzheimer’s. At 84, my dad is developing dementia himself but insists on continuing to care for mom at home. The time has honestly come that they need help – someone there on a regular basis to make sure things get done. But convincing my dad is a totally different story.

So, for now, I will continue to go by a couple of times a week and be a phone call away the rest of the time. The point of today’s blog is to serve as an awareness message… Value your life, value your family, and be ready to accept the reversing of the roles as your parents age and their health deteriorates. Thank your parents for all that they have done for you. And heaven forbid…if you are at odds with your parents – dig deep within yourself to try to make amends. It would be a true shame for their last years of life to be a lonely time.

Leave a Reply

